This is the first recording by The Choral Scholars. Featuring harpist Elizabeth Colpean (principal harpist for the Grand Rapids Symphony), this Christmas album contains works by Mendelssohn, Poulenc, Hopp, VanderZee, Rutter, and others.

Download purchase options:

CD purchase options:


Track listing

  1. Weihnachten Felix Mendelssohn
  2. Hodie Christus natus est Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck
  3. Gabriel’s Message Stephen Paulus
  4. Quem vidistis pastores dicite Francis Poulenc
  5. O magnum mysterium Tomás Luis de Victoria
  6. Welcome, Dearest Jesus Roy Hopp
  7. The Seven Joys of Christmas Kirke Mechem
    1. The Joy of Love: This is the truth
    2. The Joy of Bells: Din don! merrily on high
    3. The Joy of Mary: Joseph dearest, Joseph mine
    4. The Joy of Children: Patapan
    5. The Joy of the New Year: New Year Song
    6. The Joy of Dance: Fum, fum, fum!
    7. The Joy of Song: God bless the master of this house
  8. Lo, How A Rose E’er Blooming Hugo Distler
  9. Castitatis lilium effloruit Joel VanderZee
  10. There Is No Rose of Such Virtue Robert H. Young
  11. Psalm 84: Cantique de Jean Racine Gabriel Fauré/Hal Hopson
  12. Beati quorum via Charles Villiers Stanford
  13. Jauchzet dem Herre Heinrich Schütz
  14. Angels’ Carol John Rutter